Shoryaku AI

Is a 14-day free trial the norm? Counted on 8 companies' official pages

Updated First-party research8 min

Of 8 marketing-analytics SaaS official pages, 4 stated a free-trial length, and all 4 of those said 14 days with no card. The other 4 had a “try it free” button and did not state a length on the official page.

Ours was 7 days. That is half of the shortest length that was written down. I also could not explain why it was 7. It was not even a constant. The signup code had a literal 7.

There was no basis beyond “about a week.” We extended it to 14 days.

I am building Shoryaku AI ( https://shoryaku.net ), a marketing-support SaaS. There is no free plan. For a period after signup, the product can be used at the level of a paid plan. That choice is written in Why there is no free plan, and a 14-day trial instead. What that article decided was “a period, not a plan.” It did not decide how long.

What the 8 official pages said

This is what was on each company’s pricing page, as of September 4, 2026. Prices and trial terms change. Check the official page when you are actually comparing.

Service Trial length Card
AgencyAnalytics 14 days Stated as not required
Supermetrics 14 days Stated as not required
Databox 14 days Stated as not required
Swydo 14 days Stated as not required
DashThis Not stated (“Try it Free” is there) Not stated
Whatagraph Not stated Not stated
Gyro-n MEO Not stated Not stated
AIアナリスト(WACUL) Not stated (“free analysis” is there) Not stated

The 4 that stated a length matched on both the length and the card. 14 days, no card. No spread.

Half did not state a length. That was the surprise. There is a path labeled “try it free” or “free analysis,” and the pricing page does not say how many days you get.

The public pages do not say why a length is omitted. Whatagraph and WACUL sell through a quote or a sales conversation, so it is easy to imagine why a length is hard to publish. DashThis and Gyro-n MEO publish prices and still do not state a length. I am not going to guess the reason.

One thing can be said. The 4 companies that published a length all said 14 days.

It had moved since the previous pass

The same 8 companies were checked before. That write-up said “of 7 companies whose length was known, 6 were 14 days or two weeks.” Counted again, it is 4.

Two reasons could explain the gap. The pricing page changed, or the previous pass also looked at help pages and signup screens. Which one is not confirmed, so the figures in this article are limited to what the official pricing page states.

Prices moved within a week as well. Supermetrics Starter went from $44 to $39 a year, and Growth from $177 to $159. A comparison table with no date does not stay correct for long.

Seven days does not get you to a check

The premise for the shorter length was also wrong. I thought 7 days was enough because “connect the data, see the analysis, and you can decide.”

In practice, marketing data becomes something you can judge in this order.

  1. Connect ads or analytics
  2. Receive the first analysis and the improvement ideas
  3. Try the proposed move
  4. Look at the numbers again and check what changed

Steps 3 and 4 take at least one to two weeks. If the trial ends at step 2, the person has only experienced “the AI said something.”

So 14 days is closer to the time it takes to try something and see a result than to a number copied from a row of competitors. That is how it read for our own product. It is not evidence that the 8 companies think the same way.

What did not change

  • There is still no free plan
  • Starting the trial still does not ask for a card
  • When the period ends, features that need a contract are stopped by the same expiry check

Only the number of days changed. How the extension moves the rate of conversion to paid is unmeasured. There are no paying customers yet.

Extending it was not one line

Changing the number of days is one line, but 7 was scattered through the processing and the on-screen copy, so three places were actually touched. Gathering it into a constant, moving people who were already on a trial, and the landing-page copy. That is three places in our implementation. It does not mean every product has three places.

Summary

  • A 7-day trial had no basis. A literal 7 was written in the processing
  • On 8 official pricing pages, 4 stated a length. All of them were 14 days with no card
  • The other 4 did not state a length. Each of those ways of selling involves a conversation or an individual quote
  • 14 days could be explained as the time to try a move and see the result, not as a copied row
  • Prices and trials move within a week. A comparison table with no date does not stay correct
  • Only the number of days changed. The effect on conversion is unmeasured